6 Facts About Gluten You’re Probably Getting Wrong


6 Facts About Gluten You’re Probably Getting Wrong6 facts about gluten you're probably getting wrong

The gluten-free diet has gained a lot of popularity over the years, but there still may be a bit of confusion for some. Here are six common “gluten” misunderstandings according to recent surveys.

1. What is gluten? Gluten is a protein found in grains such as wheat, barely, and rye. It helps certain foods maintain their shape and elasticity, it acts as a glue that holds food together.

It is typically avoided by those who have celiac disease and or wheat sensitivities because it can cause illness. Gluten is often found in many baked goods, cereals, alcoholic beverages, salad dressings, soups, pastas etc.

2. If a product is labeled wheat-free that doesn’t always mean that it is gluten-free. Wheat is one of several grains that do contain gluten.

3. Rice is a gluten-free grain, not all grains contain gluten.

4. Spices and other flavorings do not usually contain gluten. However, to cut cost many spices and seasonings are adulterated with wheat flour or wheat starch, which usually leads to cross contamination.

5. As for dietary supplements, they too are often altered and may contain gluten. Buy from a trusted organic, non-GMO, and gluten-free source.

6. “Gluten-free” labeling does not always mean that the product is free of gluten. Always read ingredient lists and when dining out, ask your server if the item is gluten-free.

Gluten-free grains usually consist of wild rice, soy, potato, tapioca, beans, garfava, sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, arrowroot, amaranth, teff, montina, flax, and nut flours. Also incorporate plenty of fruits, vegetables, dark leafy greens, seeds, root vegetables, and ancient grains.

Source for this Article:

http://time.com/3966978/gluten-free-diet/

 

Please like and share:

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *