9 Foods that are Surprisingly Gluten Free


9 Foods that are Surprisingly Gluten Free

9 Foods that are Surprisingly Gluten Free

Whether you’re celiacs, have a gluten sensitivity or opting for a gluten-free diet, it can be a challenge at first. Gluten is a protein found in wheat-based products such as barley, spelt, rye, and some oats. It is what gives dough it’s elasticity, though it is found in a lot more food and beverages than just baked goods. Gluten is lurking in a number of food products, making it difficult for those with a gluten intolerance or celiacs. It can be hidden in anything from wine to cereal, many seasonings, and even french fries! Below are 9 foods that are surprisingly gluten-free and safe to eat!

Chia Seeds

Despite being a tiny seed, loaded with protein, chia seeds are naturally gluten-free. These tiny little super seeds are incredibly nutritious, with high levels of omega-3 fatty acids, antioxidants, fiber, and B vitamins. Chia seeds naturally improve mood and concentration, aid in weight loss, and benefit runners for long marathons and distances.

Nuts

If you’re looking for a healthy snack that won’t leave you in a sugar coma, consider unsalted nuts! Not only are they loaded with protein, healthy fats, and nutrients, but they are also gluten free. Just be careful when purchasing certain types of trail mix, as it may contain other ingredients with gluten.

Hemp Seeds

Hemp seeds are highly nutritious and a complete protein source, which is great for vegans and vegetarians. They are also naturally gluten-free and safe for those unable to tolerate nuts and lactose.

Rice

Not all forms of rice contain gluten, even though some varieties are considered whole grains. In fact, all forms of rice, from white to brown, and even Basmati, are fine for those unable to tolerate gluten. Make sure to read ingredient lists when buying specialty rice packets and other products with rice as they may contain gluten.

Potatoes

Potatoes are an excellent and sustainable food choice for those with celiacs or a gluten sensitivity. By nature, all forms of potatoes are gluten-free. Just be careful when ordering or purchasing certain types of french fries, pre-cut, pre-packaged and instant potatoes. Potatoes are also beneficial when it comes to gluten-free baking, as potato flour can easily be substituted for regular flour. They are also a great staple for vegans and vegetarians.

Corn

Corn in almost all forms is gluten free. Whether it’s corn chips, corn tortillas, or fresh corn on the cob. The only thing you will need to look out for is added seasonings, so be sure to read the label when buying pre-packaged corn based products. Corn products are often GMO, so look for products with the Non-GMO verified labeling and organic when possible.

Legumes

This includes beans, peas, lentils, chickpeas, etc. Legumes are almost all gluten-free, meaning they are safe for those with a gluten intolerance or celiacs. Not to mention, they are also packed with fiber, protein, vitamins, and minerals. As with all pre-packaged foods, though, be sure to read ingredient lists, as it may contain added ingredients and seasonings that are not gluten-free.

Whole Grains

From quinoa to teff, amaranth, and buckwheat, there are a variety of gluten-free whole grains. Most of these grains are easily found in most grocery stores or local health food stores. Whole grains are a sustainable part of the diet, highly nutritious and filled with health benefits.

All fruits and veggies

All varieties of fresh and frozen produce are gluten-free. However, it is still important to read the ingredient lists on all pre-packaged foods, as well as dried fruit, because it may contain added ingredients.

Source for this Article:

http://coach.nine.com.au/2017/01/31/11/32/13-foods-that-are-suprisingly-gluten-free

Please like and share:

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *